Argentine director Pablo Trapero to preside over Un Certain Regard; actress-director Nicole Garcia to head Camera d’Or jury.

Just days before the launch of the Cannes Film Festival (May 14-25), two more juries have been revealed.

As previously announced, Argentine director Pablo Trapero will preside over the five-member jury, which will also include:

Peter Becker, President of The Criterion Collection (US)

Maria Bonnevie, actress (Norway / Sweden)

Géraldine Pailhas, actress (France)

Moussa Touré, director, scriptwriter, producer (Sénégal)

Bonnevie is best known for her roles in I Am Dina (2002) and The 13th Warrior (1999), and will next be seen in Susanne Bier’s En Chance Til.

Pailhas is best known for Don Juan DeMarco (1994), Palme d’Or nominee Jeune & Jolie (2013) and The Returned (2004)

The 20 films taking part in Un Certain Regard will be screened in the Debussy Theatre from May 15-23. The opening film will be Party Girl by Marie Amachoukeli, Claire Burger and Samuel Théis, a debut movie also competing for the Caméra d’or.

Touré was nomated for the Un Certain Regard Award in 2012 for his drama La Pirogue.

After the Closing Ceremony on May 23, the film awarded Prize Un Certain Regard will be screened.

Last year the Un Certain Regard Jury was presided over by the Danish director Thomas Vinterberg, who awarded the Prize Un Certain Regard to The Missing Picture by Rithy Panh and the Directing Prize to Stranger by the Lake by Alain Guiraudie.

Un Certain Regard 2014

  • Party Girl, Marie Amachoukeli, Claire Burger and Samuel Theis (opening film)

  • Jauja, Lisandro Alonso
  • The Blue Room, Matthieu Amalric
  • Misunderstood, Asia Argento
  • Titli, Kanu Behl
  • Eleanor Rigby, Ned Benson
  • Bird People, Pascale Ferran
  • Lost River, Ryan Gosling
  • Mad Love, Jessica Hausner
  • Charlie’s Country, Rolf De Heer
  • Snow In Paradise, Andrew Hulme
  • A Girl At My Door, July Jung
  • Xenia, Panos Koutras
  • Run, Philippe Lacôte
  • White God, Kornel Mundruczo
  • Turist, Ruben Östlund
  • Beautiful Youth, Jaime Rosales
  • The Salt Of The Earth, Wim Wenders, Juliano Ribeiro Salgado
  • Fantasia, Wang Chao
  • Away From His Absence, Keren Yedaya

The jury of the Camera d’or has also been revealed, which will award the best debut feature film from the Official Selection, Critics’ Week and Directors’ Fortnight. A total of 15 films will vye for the award, which will be presented during the Awards Ceremony on May 24.

As previously announced, French director Nicole Garcia will preside over the jury, which will include:

Richard Anconina, actor

Gilles Gaillard, technician

Sophie Grassin, journalist/critic

Héléna Klotz, director

Lisa Nesselson, journalist

Philippe van Leeuw, director/chief cameraman

Gaillard represents the FICAM (Federation of the Cinematographic industries, the Broadcasting and the Multimedia), Klotz represents the SRF (Society of the Directors of Films), Nesselson represents the French Syndicate of the Film critic and van Leeuw represents the AFC (French Association of the managers of Film photography).

Garcia, Anconina and Grassin were chosen by the festival.

Last year the Jury of the Caméra d’or presided over by Agnès Varda awarded Ilo Ilo by Anthony Chen, selected by the Directors’ Fortnight.

Caméra d’or 2014

  • A Girl At My Door (Dohee-Ya), July Jung
  • At Li Layla, Asak Korman
  • Catch Me Daddy, Daniel Wolfe
  • Gente de Bien, Franco Lolli
  • Les Combattants, Thomas Cailley
  • Lost River, Ryan Gosling
  • Party Girl, Marie Amachoukeli, Claire Burger, Samuel Theis
  • Piu Buio di Mezzanotte, Sebastiano Riso
  • Run, Philippe Lacote
  • Snow in Paradise, Andrew Hulme
  • The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby, Ned Benson
  • The Tribe, Myroslav Slaboshpytskiy
  • These Final Hours, Zak Hilditch
  • Titli, Kanu Behl
  • When Animals Dream, Jonas Alexander Arnby