The Night Of The 12th

Source: Memento International

The Night Of The 12th

Dominik Moll’s police procedural The Night Of The 12th tops the nominations for the 28th annual Lumière Awards.

France’s version of The Golden Globes, the Lumière Awards are voted on by international correspondents from 36 countries.

The Night Of The 12th leads with six nominations, just ahead of Albert Serra’s political thriller Pacifiction with five. Rebecca Zlotowski’s Other People’s Children and Alice Diop’s Saint Omer tie on four nods each. The films will vie for the Best Film prize alongside Alice Winocour’s Paris Memories.

Scroll down for full list of nominees

This year’s crop of nominees is heavy on 2022 festival titles. Both Saint Omer and Other People’s Children world premiered at Venice where the former won the Silver Lion Grand Jury Prize and the Luigi De Laurentiis Lion of the Future Award. The Night of the 12th, Pacifiction and Paris Memories premiered in Cannes this year.

Fellow festival titles Louis Garrel’s The Innocent, which world premiered in Cannes in 2022, and Gaspar Noé’s 2021 Cannes title Vortex, are also among the nominees in major categories.

Saint Omer and Pacifiction recently tied to win France’s Louis Delluc Prize for Best Film of the year ex aequo. Saint Omer is also France’s pick to contend for the upcoming Academy Awards in the Best International Feature category.

The Night of the 12th is an investigative drama starring Bastien Bouillon and Bouli Lanners that explores issues of gender, violence and policing politics in France. Set in Grenoble, the film follows a police unit as it tries to get to the bottom of a haunting murder case. Memento International has sold the film to a slew of territories including Film Movement in the US and Picturehouse Entertainment for the UK and Ireland. Released in July in France via Haut et Court, The Night of the 12th sold a solid 500,000 tickets in the territory during its local run.

Other People’s Children also screened at TIFF and stars Virginie Efira as a 40-year-old woman without children of her own who falls in love with Roschdy Zem’s character Ali and bonds with his young daughter. Released in France via Ad Vitam in September, the film had an impressive run at the local box office with 400,000 in ticket sales. It is sold internationally by Wild Bunch.

Following its Venice wins, Saint Omer screened at several more major festivals, notably Toronto, New York and BFI London. Wild Bunch International has sold the film across the globe, including to Neon’s boutique label Super in the US and Picturehouse Entertainment in the UK. The film is a fictionalised account of a real-life news story about a Senegalese immigrant who confessed to abandoning her child on a beach in northern France in 2013. Diop also earned a double nomination for her nonfiction title We in the Best Documentary category.

Pacifiction stars Cesar-winning French actor Benoit Magimel as a French government official in Tahiti rubbing shoulders with the high-end establishment and mingling with locals as he embarks on an investigation. Films Boutique has sold the film across the globe following its Cannes premiere including to Grasshopper Films in the US and New Wave Films for the UK and Ireland.

The Lumiere ceremony will take place on January 16, 2023 on the closing night of Unifrance’s Rendez-Vous with French Cinema in Paris.

Lumière Awards nominees

Best Film

  • Other People’s Children dir. Rebecca Zlotowski
  • The Night Of The 12th dir. Dominik Moll
  • Pacifiction dir. Albert Serra
  • Paris Memories dir. Alice Winocour
  • Saint Omer dir. Alice Diop

Best Director

  • Valeria Bruni-Tedeschi for Forever Young
  • Dominik Moll for The Night Of The 12th
  • Gaspar Noé for Vortex
  • Albert Serra for Pacifiction
  • Rebecca Zlotowski for Other People’s Children 

Best Screenplay

  • Alice Diop, Marie NDiaye, Amrita David for Saint Omer
  • Louis Garrel, Tanguy Viel for The Innocent
  • Christophe Honoré for Winter Boy (Le Lycéen)
  • Dominik Moll, Gilles Marchand for The Night Of The 12th
  • Rebecca Zlotowski for Other People’s Children 

Best Documentary

  • The Super 8 Years dir. Annie Ernaux and David Ernaux-Briot
  • La Combattante dir. Camille Ponsin
  • H6 dir. Ye Ye
  • We (Nous) Alice Diop
  • Fragments (Retour à Reims) dir. Jean-Gabriel Périot 

Best Animated Film

  • Ernest And Celestine dir. Julien Chheng & Jean-Christophe Roger
  • Little Nicholas: Happy As Can Be dir. Amandine Fredon et Benjamin Massoubre
  • The Black Pharaoh, The Savage And The Princess dir. Michel Ocelot
  • My Father’s Secrets dir. Véra Belmont
  • Les Voisins De Mes Voisins Sont Mes Voisins dir. Anne-Laure Daffis & Léo Marchand

Best Actress

  • Juliette Binoche for Between Two Worlds (Ouistreham) dir. Emmanuel Carrère
  • Laure Calamy for Full Time dir. Eric Gravel
  • Virginie Efira for Other People’s Children dir. Rebecca Zlotowski
  • Françoise Lebrun for Vortex dir. Gaspard Noé
  • Noémie Merlant for The Innocent dir. Louis Garrel

Best Actor

  • Bastien Bouillon for The Night Of The 12th dir. Dominik Moll
  • Louis Garrel for The Innocent dir. Louis Garrel
  • Vincent Macaigne for Diary Of A Fleeting Affair dir. Emmanuel Mouret
  • Benoît Magimel for Pacifiction dir. Albert Serra
  • Denis Menochet for As Bestas dir. Rodrigo Sorogoyen

Most Promising Actress

  • Marion Barbeau for En Corps dir. Cédric Klapisch
  • Hélène Lambert for Ouistreham dir. Emmanuel Carrère
  • Guslagie Malanda for Saint Omer dir. Alice Diop
  • Rebecca Marder for Une Jeune Fille Qui Va Bien dir. Sandrine Kiberlain
  • Nadia Tereszkiewicz for Les Amandiers dir. Valeria Bruni-Tedeschi

Most Promising Actor

  • Adam Bessa for Harka dir. Lotfy Nathan
  • Stefan Crepon for Peter Von Kant dir. François Ozon
  • Dimitri Doré for Bruno Reidal dir. Vincent Le Port
  • Paul Kircher for Winter Boy dir. Christophe Honoré
  • Aliocha Reinert for Petite Nature dir. Samuel Theis

Best First Film

  • Bruno Reidal dir Vincent Le Port
  • Harka dir. Lotfy Nathan
  • The Worst Ones dir. Lise Akoka & Romane Gueret
  • Le Sixième Enfant dir. Léopold Legrand
  • Everyone Loves Jeanne dir. Céline Devaux 

Best International Co-production

  • Bestas dir. Rodrigo Sorogoyen
  • The Cairo Conspiracy dir. Tarik Saleh
  • Flee dir. Jonas Poher Rasmussen
  • R.M.N dir. Cristian Mungiu
  • Rien À Foutre dir. Emmanuel Marre & Julie Lecoustre

Best Cinematography

  • Sébastien Buchmann for Les Passagers de la Nuit dir. Mikhaël Hers
  • Benoît Debie for Vortex dir. Gaspar Noé
  • Patrick Ghiringhelli for The Night Of The 12th dir. Dominik Moll
  • Claire Mathon for Saint Omer dir. Alice Diop
  • Artur Tort for Pacifiction dir. Albert Serra

Best Musical Score

  • Benjamin Biolay for Et Je T’aime À La Fureur dir. André Bonzel
  • Irène Dresel for Full Time dir. Éric Gravel
  • Grégoire Hetzel for The Innocent dir. Louis Garrel
  • Marc Verdaguer for Pacifiction dir. Albert Serra
  • Olivier Marguerit for The Night of the 12th dir. Dominik Moll