Marketing executive Cheryl Boone Isaacs has become the first black president of the Academy Of Motion Pictures Arts And Sciences and the third woman to hold the post in the body’s 86-year history.

The Academy tweeted news of Boone Isaacs’ appointment on Tuesday evening [30].

Boone Isaacs replaces Hawk Koch, who had to step down after one year in the post because nine years of consecutive service on the board rendered him ineligible to continue in the role.

The new incumbent currently heads CBI Enterprises and has consulted on such titles as The King’s Speech, The Artist and Spider-Man 2. She has held executive roles as president of theatrical marketing at New Line and evp of worldwide publicity at Paramount.

For the past year Boone Isaacs has served as first vice-president for the past year and she begins her 21st year as a governor representing the public relations branch. She produced last year’s Governors Awards.

In other election results, John Lasseter was elected first vice-president, Jeffrey Kurland and Leonard Engelman vice-presidents, Dick Cook treasurer and Phil Robinson secretary.

These will be the first officer stints for Engelman, Kurland and Cook. Lasseter previously served one-year terms as treasurer from 2011-12 and secretary from 2009-10. Robinson served as vice-president during the past year, his fourth consecutive term in that office over the period 2009-2013.

Academy board members may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms, while officers serve one-year terms, with a maximum of four consecutive years in any one office.