John madden

Source: Focus Features

John Madden

UK filmmaker John Madden, whose credits include the India-set Best Exotic Marigold Hotel films, will head the jury for the International Competition at this year’s Mumbai Film Festival (October 12-18). 

The jury also includes Hong Kong-American actress Celina Jade, who recently starred in record-breaking Chinese mega-hit Wolf Warrior 2; Mexican cinematographer Alexis Zabe, Indian actress-director Konkona Sensharma and Argentinean filmmaker Santiago Mitre.

The International Competition for first-time directors includes films such as Japanese director Atsuko Hirayanagi’s Oh Lucy!, which premeired in Cannes Critics Week this year; UK director Daniel Kokotajlo’s English and Urdu-language Apostasy; Colombian filmmaker Samir Oliveros’ Creole-language Bad Lucky Goat; and Xhosa-language The Wound, from South Africa’s John Trengove.

Indian filmmaker Anurag Kashyap’s The Brawler (Mukkabaaz), which recently played in Toronto, will open the festival at Mumbai’s iconic Liberty Cinema on October 12.

The India Gold competition includes titles such as Dipesh Jain’s In The Shadows, Miransha Naik’s Juze and Rima Das’ Village Rockstars, which recently premiered in Toronto (see full list below).

The festival also features an out of competition India Story section, with titles such as Kamal Swaroop’s Pushkar Puran and Praveen Morchhale’s Walking With The Wind, while the World Cinema section which will present a wide range of recent festival titles such as Andrey Zvyagintsev’s Loveless, Annemarie Jacir’s Wajib and Mouly Suray’s Marlina The Murderer In Four Acts.


  • Ashwattham, Dir: Pushpendra Singh (Brij)
  • Checkmate, Dir: Ektara Collective (Hindi)
  • Ajji, Dir: Devashish Makhija (Hindi)
  • In The Shadows, Dir: Dipesh Jain (Hindi)
  • Juze, Dir: Miransha Naik (Konkani)
  • Machines, Dir: Rahul Jain (Hindi)
  • Ralang Road, Dir: Karma Takapa (Nepali)
  • Sexy Durga, Dir: Sanal Kumar Sasidharan (Malayalam)
  • Up Down & Sideways, Dir: Anushka Meenakshi, Iswar Srikumar (Chokri)
  • Village Rockstars, Dir: Rima Das (Assamese)
  • Zoo, Dir: Shlok Sharma (Hindi)