Source: Toronto International Film Festival


Bong Joon Ho’s impressive awards season continued on Saturday night (January 4) as Parasite was named best picture of the year in the National Society Of Film Critics’ 54th annual vote.

The South Korean dark comedy, which is in the running for best foreign language film in Sunday’s Golden Globe Awards, earned 44 votes under the Society’s weighted ballot system, finishing ahead of Little Women on 27 and Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood on 22.

Greta Gerwig was named best director for Little Women, edging out Bong with 39 votes against 36, while Martin Scorsese placed third on 31 for The Irishman. Bong and Han Jin Won earned the best screenplay prize for Parasite.

Mary Kay Pierce was named best actress for Diane, and Antonio Banderas was named best actor for Pain And Glory. Claire Mathon prevailed in the cinematography category for her work on Portrait Of A Lady On Fire and Atlantics.

Film at Lincoln Center in New York hosted the vote, and for the fourth year the Society enabled members across the country to vote live over the internet.

Full list of winners:

Best Picture
Parasite – 44
Little Women – 27
Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood – 22

Best Director
Greta Gerwig (Little Women) – 39
Bong Joon Ho (Parasite) – 36
Martin Scorsese (The Irishman) – 31

Best Actress
Mary Kay Place (Diane) – 40
Zhao Tao (Ash Is Purest White) – 28
Florence Pugh (Midsommar) – 25

Best Supporting Actress
Laura Dern (Marriage Story, Little Women) – 57
Florence Pugh (Little Women) – 44
Jennifer Lopez (Hustlers) – 26

Best Actor
Antonio Banderas (Pain And Glory) – 69
Adam Driver (Marriage Story) – 43
Adam Sandler (Uncut Gems) – 41

Best Supporting Actor
Brad Pitt (Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood) – 64
Joe Pesci (The Irishman) – 30
=Wesley Snipes (Dolemite Is My Name)
=Song Kang Ho (Parasite) – 18

Best Cinematography
Claire Mathon (Portrait Of A Lady On Fire, Atlantics) – 41
Robert Richardson (Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood) – 29
Yorick Le Saux (Little Women) – 22

Best Screenplay
Bong Joon Ho and Han Jin Won (Parasite) – 37
Quentin Tarantino (Once Upon A Time… In Hollywood) – 34
Greta Gerwig (Little Women) – 33

Best Nonfiction Film
Honeyland – 33
American Factory -28
Apollo 11 – 27

Film Heritage Awards

“Private Lives, Public Spaces” at the Museum of Modern Art
Curated by Ron Magliozzi, this exhibit makes visible MOMA’s collection of over 100 years of vernacular moving images, most of them home movies by the famous and the unknown. Shown on multiple screens in the lobbies of MoMA’s Titus theatres, they form a crazy quilt of personal and cultural history.

Rialto Pictures
The Society honoured Rialto Pictures, in its 22nd year, both for distributing 4K restorations of beloved classics like Kind Hearts and Coronets and for presenting neglected work by international masters, such as Federico Fellini’s The White Sheik, and, for the first time, the uncut version of Francesco Rosi’s Christ Stopped At Eboli, with restored prints and upgraded subtitles.