Guldbagge Awards

Source: Pelle T Nilsson / Swedish Press Agency

(L-R) ‘Run Uje Run’ producer Tomas Michaelsson, writer-star Uje Brandelius and director Henrik Schyffert

Henrik Schyffert’s Run Uje Run has won best film at the 2021 Guldbagge Awards, Sweden’s top film accolade, which also saw Amanda Kernell’s Charter score a hat-trick including best director.

Run Uje Run, written by and starring Swedish musician Uje Brandelius, is an autobiographical comedy-drama that centres on a pop star who is diagnosed with Parkinson’s.

Scroll down for full list of winners

The feature, which won the audience award and Fipresci prize when its debuted at Goteborg Film Festival last year, also scored the best leading actor and screenplay prizes for Brandelius at the ceremony in Stockholm last night (January 25).

Charter, which is Sweden’s submission for the best international feature Oscar, also picked up three Guldbagge prizes including best director for Kernell, best leading actress for Ane Dahl Torp and best cinematography for Sophia Olsson.

Charter is Kernell’s second feature, after the acclaimed Sami Blood, and received its world premiere at Sundance. The story follows a Swedish mother’s desperate move to abduct her own children on a trip to the Canary Islands because she fears she will lose custody of them. TrustNordisk has closed a raft of sales on the title.

Other winners included I Am Greta, Nathan Grossman’s portrait of young Swedish climate activist Greta Thunberg, which won best documentary; while best international feature was awarded to another documentary, For Sama, directed by Waad Al-Kateab and Edward Watts.

Guldbagge Awards 2021 winners

Best Film
Run Uje Run

Best Director
Amanda Kernell, Charter

Best Actress in a Leading Role
Ane Dahl Torp, Charter

Best Actor in a Leading Role
Uje Brandelius, Run Uje Run

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Lena Endre, My Father Marianne

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
Ahmad Fadel, Ghabe

Best Screenplay
Uje Brandelius, Run Uje Run

Best Editing
Fredrik Morheden, Breaking Surface

Best Cinematography
Sophia Olsson, Charter

Best Sound/Sound Design
Fredrik Lantz, The Other Side (Andra sidan)

Best Original Score
Ola Kvernberg, Only the Devil Lives Without Hope

Best Visual Effects
Jelmen Palsterman and Tony Kock, Breaking Surface

Best Costume Design
Kicki Ilander, Nelly Rapp Monster Agent

Best Set Design
Linda Janson and Charlotte Alfredson, The Jonsson Gang

Best Makeup
Hanna Holm Löfgren, Eva von Bahr and Love Larson, Nelly Rapp Monster Agent

Best Documentary Film
I Am Greta, Nathan Grossman

Best International Feature Film
For Sama, Waad Al-Kateab and Edward Watts

The Award of Honour (Hedersguldbagge)
Sten Ljunggren, actor

The Gullspira (for extraordinary contributions in films for children)
Jon Nohrstedt, producer

Best Short Film
A Legacy of Horses, Annika Karlsson and Jessica Karlsson