Nainita Desai

Source: World Soundtrack Awards

Nainita Desai

The World Soundtrack Academy has unveiled the second and final list of nominees for the 21st edition of the World Soundtrack Awards, which will take place as the closing event of Film Fest Ghent in Belgium on October 23.

The final categories now revealed are discovery of the year, the public choice award, and best original composition by a young composer. The first wave of nominations for film composer of the year, television composer of the year and best original song were announced on August 6.

Nainita Desai, nominated in the first wave as film composer of the year, has received two more nominations for The Reason I Jump in the discovery of the year category and the public choice award – which the general public has been voting for over the past year.

Natalie Holt has been nominated in the discovery of the year category for Infidel, adding to her previously announced nod for television composer of the year (for Loki). Gavin Brivik is also nominated for discovery of the year for his Wild Indian score.

The best original composition by a young composer prize will see the winner receive €2,500. This year, participating composers have been asked to write a score for a scene from Nanook Of The North, the silent documentary film from 1922 by Robert J. Flaherty. Competing for this award are Dougal Kemp, a British visual arts composer and sound designer, American composer Matthew Lucado-Donner, and Prokhor Protasov, a Russian composer and conductor.

During the ceremony, the work of the Greek composer Eleni Karaindrou will take centre stage. She will join the Brussels Philharmonic - under the direction of Dirk Brossé - as a soloist at the piano, and she will receive the lifetime achievement award. Works by last year’s winner of the discovery of the year award, Bryce Dessner, will be performed. As announced earlier, the WSA concert will take place in the presence of guest of honour Max Richter.

See below for the full list of nominations.

Discovery of the Year

Anthony Willis, Promising Young Woman
Florencia Di Concilio, Calamity, A Childhood Of Martha Jane Cannary
Gavin Brivik, Wild Indian
Nainita Desai, The Reason I Jump
Natalie Holt, Infidel

Public Choice Award

Amelia Warner, Wild Mountain Thyme
Benji Merrison, SAS: Red Notice
Nainita Desai, The Reason I Jump
Ralf Wengenmayr and Marvin Miller, Jim Button And The Wild 13
Susan DiBona and Salvatore Sangiovanni, Bad Habits Die Hard

Sabam Award For Best Original Composition By A Young Composer

Dougal Kemp
Matthew Lucado-Donner
Prokhor Protasov

Previously announced

Film Composer of the Year          

Nainita Desai, American Murder: The Family Next DoorPersona: The Dark Truth Behind Personality TestsThe Reason I Jump 
James Newton Howard, News Of The WorldRaya And The Last Dragon 
Emile Mosseri, KajillionaireMinari
Daniel Pemberton, Enola HolmesRising PhoenixThe Trial Of The Chicago 7
Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross and Jon Batiste, Soul

TV Composer of the Year

Christophe Beck, WandaVision 
Nicholas Britell, The Underground Railroad 
Ludwig Göransson, The Mandalorian (season 2)
Natalie Holt, Loki (season 1)
Carlos Rafael Rivera, Hacks (season 1), The Queen’s Gambit

Best Original Song

‘Call me Cruella’, Cruella, Florence Welch, Jordan Powers, Nicholas Britell, Steph Jones & Taura Stinson 
‘Fight for You’, Judas And The Black Messiah, H.E.R., Dernst Emile II & Tiara Thomas
‘Hear My Voice’, The Trial Of The Chicago 7, Daniel Pemberton & Celeste Waitea, 
‘Húsavík (My Hometown)’, Eurovision Song Contest: The Story Of Fire Saga, Savan Kotecha, Rickard Göransson and Fat Max Gsus
‘Loyal Brave True’, Mulan, Jamie Hartman, Harry Gregson-Williams, Rosi Golan and Billy Crabtree
‘Rain Song’, Minari, Emile Mosseri