Film Independent has selected 30 filmmakers for its Project Involve dedicated to fostering the careers of talented filmmakers from communities traditionally underrepresented in the film industry.

Producer Cathy Schulman, writer-director Billy Ray and writer-producer Virgil Williams will serve as guest speakers with additional guest speakers and mentors to be announced.

“Project Involve is an extraordinary program and a vital extension of the core values and mission of Film Independent,” said Jennifer Kushner, director of artist development at Film Independent.

“Among our key goals are to foster community, cultivate the careers of filmmakers, and increase cultural diversity in the film industry. We are committed to supporting this exceptional group of artists and professionals in their careers, and by doing so, we hope to contribute to a future where diverse voices will thrive in the entertainment industry.”

For the third consecutive year Sony Pictures Entertainment returns with the Diversity Fellowship in Project Involve, which provides year-round support to one talented participating filmmaker.

The Fellowship enables Film Independent to provide a cash production grant and free professional development. The recipient will be announced at the Project Involve Showcase in April.

This year’s Project Involve cycle also welcomed the launch of the FOX | HBCU Media Alliance Fox Film Fellowship, an extension of Film Independent’s partnership with FOX Audience Strategy.

FOX | HBCU Media Alliance member Elliott Williams was announced as the Fellow in October and will receive a $10,000 grant toward his participation in Project Involve.

The 2014 Project Involve filmmakers are:

Directors: Yaa Boaa Aning, Nicholas Bouier, Rosie Haber, Dominic Haxton, Christina Sun Kim, Yeonchul Lee, Geeta Malik, Richard Parkin, Jeff Roy, Ian Samuels, Iliana Sosa, Lulu Wang and Angel Kristi Williams.

Writers: Chris Bailey, Q Terah Jackson and Daniel Lee.

Producers: Soojin Chung, Reena Dutt, Derege Harding, Kimberly Hwang, Cole Wiley and Elliott Williams.

Editors: Lissette Rodriguez and Fernando Viquez.

Cinematographers: Ava Berkofsky, Carolina Costa, Colin Oh and Alan Torres.

Industry Track: Lara R Gregg (development) and Lucy Mukerjee (festival programmer).