Christopher Nolan has commenced production on his deep space wormhole project starring Matthew McConaughey, Anne Hathaway and Jessica Chastain in Alberta, Canada, for Paramount and Warner Bros.

Interstellar will open on IMAX and conventional theatres on Nov 7, 2014. Paramount handles the North American release and Warner Bros will distribute internationally.

The project is based on an original idea by Nolan and an existing script by Jonathan Nolan that was originally developed for Paramount Pictures and producer Lynda Obst.

The film chronicles the adventures of a group of space explorers who become capable of interstellar travel.

The cast includes Bill Irwin, John Lithgow, Casey Affleck, David Gyasi, Wes Bentley, Mackenzie Foy, Timothée Chalamet, Topher Grace, David Oyelowo, Ellen Burstyn and Michael Caine.

Nolan’s partner Emma Thomas produces alongside Obst. Theoretical physicist Kip Thorne acts as consultant and executive producer along with Jake Myers and Jordan Goldberg.