The newly established European Film Commissions Network (EuFCN) appointed Arie Bohrer of Location Austria and the Austrian Film Commission as its first board president Nov 23 in Prague.

Delegates from the 55 member commissions representing 18 European countries also appointed Patrick Lamassoure of Film France as general secretary of the EuFCN board and Marianne Gassner of Stuttgart Region Film Commission as Treasurer. Other members of the first board are Andrea Rocco, Genova Set Film Commission; Giorgio Fossati, Film Commission Torino Piemonte; Piluca Querol, Andalucia Film Commission; and Ludmila Claussova, Czech Film Center - Film Commission.

'The audiovisual industry worldwide is expected to grow to Euros 71bn over the next three years, according to a recent PriceWaterHouse Coopers report,' Bohrer said. 'The EuFCN will work to ensure that Europe competes for a share of this global industry.'

The meeting was hosted by the Czech Film Center-Film Commission and the Czech Audiovisual Producers' Association

The EuFCN was inaugurated in Brussels in March 2007 and held its first general assembly in Cannes last year. The network plans joint marketing activities targeting production companies, intra-national location services and joint attendance at trade shows and film festivals.