The Academy Of Motion Picture Arts And Sciences has announced the expanded roster of 20 films in contention for the visual effects Oscar.

Star Wars The Force Awakens

The films (listed in alphabetical order) are:

  • Ant-Man
  • Avengers: Age Of Ultron
  • Bridge Of Spies
  • Chappie
  • Everest
  • Ex Machina
  • Furious Seven
  • The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 2
  • In The Heart Of The Sea
  • Jupiter Ascending
  • Jurassic World
  • Mad Max: Fury Road
  • The Martian
  • Mission: Impossible – Rogue Nation
  • The Revenant
  • Spectre
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens
  • Terminator: Genisys
  • Tomorrowland
  • The Walk

The Academy’s visual effects branch executive committee will announce 10 shortlisted titles later this month.

The 88th Academy Awards nominations will take place on January 14, 2016. The awards show is set for February 28, 2016, at the Dolby Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center in Hollywood.