67th edition of the Edinburgh International Film Festival runs June 19-30.

Drake Doremus’ Breathe In [pictured] will receive its European premiere as the opening film of this year’s Edinburgh International Film Festival (EIFF).

Starring Guy Pearce, Felicity Jones and Amy Ryan, the film centres on a music teacher (Pearce) who privately reminisces about his days as a starving artist in the city. When his family decide to host a foreign exchange student (Jones), she reinvigorates the impulsiveness of his personality which ultimately pushes their seemingly perfect family into unfamiliar territory.

Doremus and Jones will be in attendance on the opening night on June 19.

Chris Fujiwara, EIFF artistic director, commented: “In a healthy year for American cinema, Breathe In is clearly a stand-out. It’s an emotionally powerful, beautifully understated and intelligent work from director-writer Drake Doremus, who reveals tremendous sensitivity, style and skill. He also draws superb performances from Guy Pearce and Felicity Jones. Breathe In is the ideal opening film for our festival this year.”

“I’m very excited that Breathe In has been selected to play the Edinburgh International Film Festival and to be given the opening night slot is overwhelming. I now look forward to visiting Edinburgh and celebrating not just the event but the festival’s recognition of a film I am incredibly proud of.”

Breathe In will be released by Curzon Film World on July 19.

As previously announced, John McKay’s Not Another Happy Ending will close the 67th EIFF on June 30.