Chloé Zhao_TIFF Tribute 2020

Source: Searchlight Pictures

Chloe Zhao on set of ‘Nomadland’

The Directors Guild of America (DGA) has revealed the nominees for its two feature film award categories. 

Nomadland’s Chloe Zhao and Mank’s David Fincher are among contenders for the Guild’s main feature award and Radha Blank, for The Forty-Year-Old Version, and Fernando Frias de la Parra, for I’m No Longer Here, figure in the first-time feature category. 

The directors of Minari, Promising Young Woman and The Trial Of The Chicago 7 complete the field in the main category and those of One Night In Miami, Sound Of Metal and The Father are also in contention in the first-time group. 

Announcing the nominees, DGA president Thomas Schlamme said: “Throughout these challenging and isolating times, the universal power of film has served such a meaningful role in our culture - helping fulfill our needs for human connection, expanding our worldviews, and keeping us inspired through stunning storytelling and artistry. I congratulate our five nominees whose diverse and extraordinary films embodied that universal power in a year that will never be forgotten.” 

Winners in the two categories will be announced at the 73rd annual DGA Awards, a private virtual event for DGA members, on April 10.

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Theatrical Feature Film

Lee Isaac Chung, Minari (A24)

Emerald Fennell, Promising Young Woman (Focus Features)

David Fincher, Mank (Netflix)

Aaron Sorkin, The Trial of the Chicago 7 (Netflix, DreamWorks Pictures)

Chloé Zhao, Nomadland (Searchlight Pictures)

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in First-Time Feature Film

Radha Blank, The Forty-Year-Old Version (Netflix) 

Fernando Frías de la Parra, I’m No Longer Here (Netflix) 

Regina King, One Night in Miami (Amazon Studios) 

Darius Marder, Sound of Metal (Amazon Studios) 

Florian Zeller, The Father (Sony Pictures Classics)