The Dissident

Source: CPH:DOX

‘The Dissident’

Copenhagen-based documentary festival CPH:DOX (March 18-29) has revealed its 2020 competition line-up, with 52% of the 65 titles directed by one or more female directors.

Notable world premieres include Ecstasy, the new project from Brazil’s Moara Passoni, who co-wrote the Oscar-nominated The Edge Of Democracy. Ecstasy is an autobiographical hybrid following Passoni’s alter ego Clara as she battles anorexia

Also in the main competition is the world premiere of Bitter Love from Polish filmmaker Jerzy Sladkowski, who won the main award at IDFA with Don Juan in 2015. 

The festival will also host the international premiere of Bryan Fogel’s latest The Dissident, about the Saudi murder of Washington Post journalist Jamal Khashoggi. Fogel’s previous film was the Oscar-winning Russian doping doc Icarus.

Hubert Sauper, Oscar-nominated for Darwin’s Nightmare in 2004, presents the European premiere of his Sundance winner Epicentro in competition.

Meanwhile, in the Next:Wave Competition, standout titles include The Republics from UK artist Huw Wahl, and Nordisk Film-backed The Soldier from Danish photo artist Nikolaj Møller.

The CPH:DOX competition programmes consist of 65 titles with 43 world premieres, 16 international premieres and six European premieres.

In keeping with the festival’s 50/50 by 2020 gender commitment, 207 of the 409 experts invited to take part in panel discussions are women.

This year’s special guests include Werner Herzog, Edward Snowden, Jonathan Safran Foer, Alex Gibney, Alan Berliner and former EU commissioner Connie Hedegaard.

The full competition line-ups are below.


14 films including 9 world premieres, 4 international premieres and 1 European premieres.

  • A Shape of Things to Come, JP Sniadecki & Lisa Marie Malloy, USA, world premiere
  • Bitter Love, Jerzy Sladkowski, Sweden, world premiere
  • Caught in the NetVit Klusak & Barbora Chulipová, Czech Republic, world premiere
  • Dick Johnson is Dead, Kirsten Johnson, USA, international premiere
  • The Dissident, Bryan Fogel, USA, international premiere
  • Ecstasy, Moara Passoni, Brazil, world premiere
  • Epicentro, Hubert Sauper, Austria, European premiere
  • I Walk on Water, Khalik Allah, USA, international premiere
  • The Fight for Greenland, Kenneth Sorento, Denmark/Greenland, world premiere
  • Long Live LoveSine Skibsholt, Denmark, world premiere
  • No Kings, Emilia Mello, Brazil, world premiere
  • Mon Amour, David Teboul, France, world premiere
  • Oeconomia, Carmen Losmann, Germany, international premiere
  • Songs of Repression, E. Wagner & Marianne Hougen-Moraga, Denmark, world premiere


14 films including 9 world and festival premieres and 5 international premieres.

  • Ocean of Love, Alexa Karolinski & Ingo Niermann, Germany, world premiere
  • Welcome Palermo, Masbedo, Italy, international premiere
  • Mother’s Tongue, Wingyee Wu & Lap-See Lam, Sweden, world premiere (festival)(short)
  • Clay Theory, Amalie Smith, Denmark, world premiere (festival) (short)
  • Subject to Review, Theo Anthony, USA, European premiere (short)
  • The Undertaker, Yael Bartana, Israel, world premiere (festival) (short)
  • Beast Type Song, Sophia Al-Maria, Qatar, USA, world premiere (festival) (short)
  • Untitled Sequence of Gaps, Vika Kirchenbauer, Germany, international premiere
  • If Your Heart Wants It (Remix), Pilvi Takala, Finland, international premiere
  • LOLOLOL, Kurdwin Ayub, Austria, world premiere
  • Garage, Luis Ortega Govela & Olivia Erlanger, USA, Mexico, world premiere
  • Detour, Mario Valero, France, international premiere
  • The Seismic Form, Antoinette Swirchmayr, Austria, world premiere
  • South, Morgan Quaintance, UK, world premiere 


10 films including 6 world premieres, 2 international premieres and 2 European premieres.

  • Wood, Ebba Sinzinger, Monica Lazurean-Gorgan, Michaela Kirst, Austria, world premiere
  • Meet the Censors, Håvard Fossum, Norway,world premiere
  • Blasphemy, Mohamed Naqvi, Pakistan, world premiere
  • Ayouni, Yasmin Fedda, UK, Qatar, world premiere
  • Jozi Gold, Frederik Gertten, Sylvia Vollenhofer, Sweden, international premiere
  • Vivos, Ai Weiwei, Germany, European premiere
  • Dope is Death, Mia Donovan, Canada, European premiere
  • Only the Devil lives without hope, Magnus Gertten, Sweden, world premiere
  • We Hold the Line, Marc Wiese, Germany, world premiere
  • The Social Dilemma, Jeff Orlowski, USA, international premiere


12 films including 9 world premieres and 3 international premieres.

  • A Colombian Family, Tanja Wol Sørensen, Denmark, world premiere
  • Being Eriko, Jannik Splidsboel, Denmark, world premiere
  • Inside the Diamond, Viktor Johansson, Sweden, international premiere
  • Journey to Utopia, Erlend E. Mo, Denmark, world premiere
  • Maddy the Model, Jane Magnusson, Sweden,world premiere
  • Reunited, Mira Jargil, Denmark, world premiere
  • Show Dancer, Laurits Flensted-Jensen, Denmark, world premiere
  • Själö - Island of Souls, Lotte Petronella, Finland, world premiere
  • Television Without Frontiers, Andjeas Ejiksson, Sweden, international premiere
  • The Beautiful Game, Olof Berglind, Sweden, world premiere
  • The Beloved Daughter, Tiina Madisson, Finland, world premiere
  • We Are Here Now, Mariken Halle, Norway, international premiere


16 films including 10 world premieres, 3 international premieres and 3 European premieres.

  • A New Beginning, Ala’A Mohsen, Denmark, world premiere
  • Areum Married, Areum Parkkang, South Korea, international premiere
  • Dear Joel, Thanasis Trouboukis, Greece, world premiere (short)
  • Errans, Mira Adoumier, Mira Adoumier, Lebanon, world premiere
  • Garage People, Natalija Yefimkina, Germany, world premiere
  • Mayor, David Osit, USA, international premiere
  • Mullah’s Daughter, Mahdieh adat Mirhabibi, Iran, UK, European premiere
  • Once Upon a Time in Venezuela, Anabel Rodriguez Rios, Austria, Venezuela, European premiere
  • Rendezvous, Ernst Skoog, Sweden, world premiere (short)
  • Retreat, Joeri Verbesselt, Belgium, world premiere (short)
  • Return to Epipo, Judit Oláh, Hungary, World Premiere
  • The Garden of Calabria, René Georg Johansen, Jacob Krzysztof Glogowski, Denmark, World Premiere (short)
  • The Republics, Huw Wahl, UK, World Premiere
  • The Soldier, Nikolaj Møller, Denmark, World Premiere
  • Trouble, Mariah Garnett, UK/US, International Premiere
  • Sisters with Transistors, Lisa Rovner, France, European Premiere