Source: Kurt Krieger/EFP

(L-R) Catherine Ann Berger, Nerina T. Kocjančič, Stine Oppegaard, Françoise Lentz, Arben Zharku, Markéta Šantrochová and Sonja Heinen.

Film institute network European Film Promotion (EFP) has elected a new board of directors at its general assembly at the Cannes Film Festival, with six women on the seven-person board for the first time.

Four of the members are newly-appointed to the board: Catherine Ann Berger, managing director of Swiss Films; Arben Zharku, director of the Kosovo Cinematography Center; Markéta Šantrochová, deputy director of the Czech Film Center; and Stine Oppegaard, manager, international relations feature films at the Norwegian Film Institute.

Returning to the board are Briony Hanson, director of film at the British Council; Nerina T. Kocjančič, head of promotion and distribution at the Slovenian Film Centre; and Françoise Lentz, head of promotion at Film Fund Luxembourg.

The term of office run for two years. Šantrochová replaces Martin Schweighofer as president, with Oppegaard serving as vice president.

EFP managing director Sonja Heinen thanked Schweighofer for the four years he has been president, saying, “[Martin] is a true champion of the European idea, always putting the common goals of our international network of film promotion institutes first.”

He will continue to be involved with EFP through his role as executive director of austrianfilms.com.