Everything Everywhere At Once

Source: Allyson Riggs, Courtesy of A24

SXSW 2022 opening film ‘Everything Everywhere At Once’

Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert’s Everything Everywhere All At Once leads the 38th Independent Spirit Awards nominations with eight nods, followed closely by Todd Field’s Tár which has seven nominations.

Both films are up for best feature alongside Luca Guadagnino’s Bones And All, Ellie Foumbi’s Our Father, The Devil, and Sarah Polley’s Women Talking.

Everything Everywhere’s nominations include best director and screenplay. The film’s star Michelle Yeoh is also nominated for best lead performance in the awards’ first year using gender-neutral acting categories. 

Similarly, Tár is also nominated for best director, screenplay and best performance for Cate Blanchett. Nina Hoss is also nominated for best supporting actor.

Charlotte Wells’ Aftersun is nominated in five categories including best first feature and best lead for Paul Mescal. His co-star Frankie Corio has also been nominated for the inaugural best breakthrough performance prize.

A24 is the leading distributor with 24 nominations, with Focus Features next up on nine.

Making up the best international film nominations is Marie Kreutzer’s Corsage, Saim Sadiq’s Joyland,  Martika Ramirez Escobar’s Leonor Will Never Die, Davy Chou’s Return To Seoul, and Alice Diop’s Saint Omer.

Leonor Will Never Die is the only film that wasn’t also submitted for best international feature at the Oscars (instead the Philippines submitted Erik Matti’s On the Job-The Missing 8). 

The organisation received a record 409 submissions.

The winners will be announced at the Independent Spirit Awards ceremony which takes place March 4 2023 in Santa Monica.

Independent Spirit Awards 2023

Best feature (award given to the producer)

  • Bones And All, dir. Luca Guadagnino; prods. Timothée Chalamet, Francesco Melzi d’Eril, Luca Guadagnino, David Kajganich, Lorenzo Mieli, Marco Morabito, Gabriele Moratti, Theresa Park, Peter Spears
  • Everything Everywhere All At Once, dirs. Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert; prods. Daniel Kwan, Mike Larocca, Anthony Russo, Joe Russo, Daniel Scheinert, Jonathan Wang
  • Our Father, The Devil, dir. Ellie Foumbi; prods. Ellie Foumbi, Joseph Mastantuono
  • Tár, dir. Todd Field, prods. Todd Field, Scott Lambert, Alexandra Milchan
  • Women Talking, dir. Sarah Polley; prods. Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Frances McDormand

Best first feature

  • Aftersun, dir. Charlotte Wells
  • Emily The Criminal, dir. John Patton Ford
  • The Inspection, dir. Elegance Bratton
  • Murina, dir. Antoneta Alamat Kusijanović
  • Palm Trees And Power Lines, dir Jamie Dack

John Cassavetes award

  • The African Desperate, dir. Martine Syms
  • A Love Song, dir. Max Walker-Silverman
  • The Cathedral, dir. Ricky D’Ambros
  • Holy Emy, dir. Araceli Lemos
  • Something In The Dirt, dirs. Justin Benson, Aaron Moorhead 

Best director

  • Todd Field, Tár
  • Kogonada, After Yang
  • Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert, Everything Everywhere All At Once
  • Sarah Polley, Women Talking
  • Halina Reijn, Bodies Bodies Bodies

Best screenplay

  • Lena Dunham, Catherine Called Birdy
  • Todd Field, Tár
  • Kogonada, After Yang
  • Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert, Everything Everywhere All At Once
  • Sarah Polley, Women Talking

Best first screenplay

  • Joel Kim Booster, Fire Island
  • Jamie Dack, Audrey Findlay, Story by Jamie Dack, Palm Trees And Power Lines
  • K.D. Dávila, Emergency
  • Sarah DeLappe, Story by Kristen Roupenian, Bodies Bodies Bodies
  • John Patton Ford, Emily The Criminal

Best lead performance

  • Cate Blanchett, Tár
  • Dale Dickey, A Love Song
  • Mia Goth, Pearl
  • Regina Hall, Honk For Jesus. Save Your Soul.
  • Paul Mescal, Aftersun
  • Aubrey Plaza, Emily the Criminal
  • Jeremy Pope, The Inspection
  • Andrea Riseborough, To Leslie
  • Taylor Russell, Bones And All
  • Michelle Yeoh, Everything Everywhere All At Once

Best supporting performance

  • Jamie Lee Curtis, Everything Everywhere All At Once
  • Brian Tyree Henry, Causeway
  • Nina Hoss, Tár
  • Brian d’Arcy James, The Cathedral
  • Ke Huy Quan, Everything Everywhere All At Once
  • Trevante Rhodes, Bruiser
  • Theo Rossi, Emily The Criminal
  • Mark Rylance, Bones and All
  • Jonathan Tucker, Palm Trees And Power Lines
  • Gabrielle Union, The Inspection

Best breakthrough performance (new award)

  • Frankie Corio, Aftersun
  • Gracija Filipović, Murina
  • Stephanie Hsu, Everything Everywhere All At Once
  • Lily McInerny, Palm Trees And Power Lines
  • Daniel Zolghadri, Funny Pages

Best cinematography

  • Florian Hoffmeister, Tár
  • Hélène Louvart, Murina
  • Gregory Oke, Aftersun
  • Eliot Rockett, Pearl
  • Anisia Uzeyman, Neptune Frost

Best editing

  • Ricky D’Ambrose, The Cathedral
  • Dean Fleischer Camp, Nick Paley, Marcel The Shell With Shoes On
  • Blair McClendon, Aftersun
  • Paul Rogers, Everything Everywhere All At Once
  • Monika Willi, Tár

Robert Altman award 

  • Women Talking, dir. Sarah Polley

Best documentary (Award given to the director and producer)

  • All That Breathes, dir. Shaunak Sen
  • All The Beauty And The Bloodshed, dir. Laura Poitras
  • A House Made of Splinters, dir. Simon Lereng Wilmont
  • Midwives, dir. Snow Hnin Ei Hlaing
  • Riotsville, U.S.A., dir. Sierra Pettengill

Best international film

  • Corsage (Aust-Lux-Fr-Bel-It-Eng), dir. Marie Kreutzer
  • Joyland (US-Pakistan), dir. Saim Sadiq
  • Leonor Will Never Die (Phil), dir. Martika Ramirez Escobar
  • Return To Seoul (S. Kor-Fr-Bel-Rom), dir. Davy Chou
  • Saint Omer (Fr), dir. Alice Diop

Producers award

  • Liz Cardenas
  • Tory Lenosky
  • David Grove Churchill Viste

Someone To Watch award

  • Adamma Ebo, Honk For Jesus. Save Your Soul.
  • Nikyatu Jusu, Nanny
  • Araceli Lemos, Holy Emy

Truer Than Fiction award