stars of tomorrow 2017 group shot

Source: Peter Searle

Screen’s Stars Of Tomorrow 2017

The deadline for the 2018 edition of Screen’s Stars of Tomorrow - which highlights emerging actors, writers, directors and producers - has been extended until 9am (BST) Monday 4 June.

Any submissions or industry recommendations should be emailed to It is permitted to submit on your own behalf.

Candidates for inclusion in Screen International Stars of Tomorrow should be professional and with a track record, albeit brief, in the film business. They should be UK or Republic of Ireland nationals, and, as this is a young talent portfolio, ideally under the age of 30. All recommendations will be checked in a lengthy vetting process.

Stars of Tomorrow is the film industry’s most successful new talent showcase, with an unrivalled track record for discovering fresh UK and Irish actors and key creatives.

Screen International’s reviews editor and chief film critic Fionnuala Halligan will select 15 actors and 15 directors, writers and producers for a special standalone issue of Screen International, which will be published and distributed in October 2018.

2018 also marks the fourth year of a partnership with the BFI London Film Festival (October 10-21), which will see the new Stars presented as part of its programme of events.

Click here for Screen’s Stars of Tomorrow 2017

Through the Stars of Tomorrow initiative, Screen takes pride in bringing young artists to the attention of the international community during the first moments of their careers.

Previous Stars of Tomorrow include:

  • James McAvoy, Benedict Cumberbatch, Emily Blunt, Noel Clarke and director Andrea Arnold, all selected for the first-ever edition in 2004;
  • David Oyelowo, Eddie Redmayne, Ruth Negga and director Rupert Sanders (2005);
  • Riz Ahmed, Dan Stevens, Hayley Atwell and Jodie Whittaker (2006);
  • Andrew Garfield, Felicity Jones and Gemma Arterton (2007);
  • Dev Patel, Claire Foy, Tom Hiddleston, Aaron Taylor-Johnson, Gugu Mbatha-Raw and writer-director Andrew Haigh (2008);
  • Luke Evans, Daniel Kaluuya, Theo James and Holliday Grainger (2009);
  • Emilia Clarke, Sam Claflin, Jessica Brown Findlay and writer Kelly Marcel (2010);
  • John Boyega, Douglas Booth, Vanessa Kirby and writer-director John Maclean (2011);
  • Tom Holland, George MacKay and Letitia Wright (2012);
  • Will Poulter, Cush Jumbo, Arinze Kene and Stacy Martin (2013);
  • Olivia Cooke, Taron Egerton, Jack Lowden, Maisie Williams and Phoebe Waller-Bridge (2014);
  • Charlie Heaton, Joe Alwyn, Barry Keoghan and writer Marnie Dickens (2015);
  • Fionn Whitehead, Josh O’Connor, Florence Pugh, Sennia Nanua and producer Fodhla Cronin O’Reilly (2016);
  • Actor/director Nathaniel Martello-White, Tom Glynn-Carney, Harris Dickinson, Paapa Essiedu and Michaela Coel (2017)

Read more: Stars of Tomorrow line-ups year-by-year