AFI FEST 2014 presented by Audi today announced this year’s jury and audience awards for features and short films included in the New Auteur and Shorts programmes.

The New Auteurs section highlights first and second-time feature film directors and grand jury awards went to Shira Geffen’s Self Made (Boreg, Israel) for the New Auteurs Critics’ Award and Myroslav Slaboshpytskiy’s The Tribe (Plemya, Ukraine) for the VIZIO Visionary Special Jury Award.

Buffalo Juggalos by Scott Cummings earned the Live Action Short Award while Bernardo Britto’s Yearbook received the Animated Short Award.

Special Jury Award honours went to Güeros (Mexico) and Violet (Belgium-Holland).

In the audience awards, Gabe Polsky’s Red Army skated off with the World Cinema Audience Award, while Alonso Ruizpalacios’s Güeros claimed the New Auteurs Audience Award.

The American Independents Audience Award went to 10.000 KM (Spain-USA, pictured) by Carlos Marques-Marcet and Sarah Adina Smith’s The Midnight Swim (USA) took the Breakthrough Audience Award.

“The films in competition have screened at other festivals throughout the year and AFI FEST is the place where they are presented together in the context of showcasing bold, original and audacious auteur work from new filmmakers,” said AFI FEST director Jacqueline Lyanga. “We hope the recognition from our jury of film critics will lead audiences to discover these films.”