Executives at the Sundance Institute have pulled back the curtain on the 10 writers selected for the inaugural Episodic Story Lab, set to take place at the Sundance Resort in Utah from September 27-October 2.

The Episodic Story Lab, established with founding support from Lyn and Norman Lear, is the Institute’s first programme for emerging writers creating series for television and online platforms.

The selected writers are: Desiree Akhavan (Switch Hitter); Peter Biegen (Small Change); Nate Crocker (Scar Tissue); Katori Hall (The Dial); Barry Jenkins (Radical); Nick Keetch (Borderline); Lisa Kron (The Schaeffers); Crystal Liu (The White Sheep); Heather Marion (Bury Me); and Matt Young (Still).

Founding director of the Sundance Institute Feature Film Program Michelle Satter (pictured) will lead the group as they work with showrunners, television executives and producers.

Participants will join one-on-one creative story meetings, a Writers’ Room to break story, pitch sessions and group conversations about the creative and business environment of television writing and producing.

“The selected writers are telling distinctive and dynamic stories in a range of genres and formats,” said Satter. “It is exciting and humbling to support the creative journey of these talented writers who will work closely with accomplished showrunners to refine, challenge and advance their work and understanding of multi-episode storytelling.”

Following the Lab, the writers will receive customised year-round support including ongoing creative and strategic advice, year-round mentors and introductions to targeted showrunners, networks, agents and other creative and business professionals.

The Sundance Institute Episodic Story Lab is made possible by Founding Supporters Lyn and Norman Lear; Leadership Supporters A&E Networks, Netflix, SundanceTV and Time Warner Foundation/HBO; and Discovery Supporters Cindy and Alan Horn, RT Features and Sonar Entertainment.