The British actor will receive the 26th annual Palm Springs International Film Festival’s (PSIFF) Desert Palm Achievement Award, Actor on January 3.

Redmayne plays Stephen Hawking in Focus Features’ acclaimed The Theory Of Everything.

Previous recipients of the Desert Palm Achievement Award include Jeff Bridges, Bradley Cooper, Daniel Day-Lewis, Colin Firth, Sean Penn, Matthew McConaughey, and Brad Pitt.

In the years they were honoured, Bridges, Day-Lewis, McConaughey and Penn went on to win the best actor Oscar.

Redmayne’s film credits include Les Misérables, My Week With Marilyn, Savage Grace, Elizabeth: The Golden Age, Like Minds, The Yellow Handkerchief, The Other Boleyn Girl and The Good Shepherd. 

PSIFF is set to run from January 3-12.