Actress Sheridan Smith, producer Pippa Harris, and director Penny Woolcock are among the honorees at the 23rd annual Sky Women in Film and TV awards in London.

The 2013 EON Lifetime Acheivement award goes to broadcaster Angela Rippon.

Nearly 1,000 industry guests are in attendance at the Park Lane Hilton in London. Ruby Wax hosts this year’s event.

Presenters of awards included BBC Director General Tony Hall, actors Peter Capaldi, Ashley Walters, Julie Walters and James Corden, and BFI London Film Festival director Clare Stewart

WFTV CEO Kate Kinninmont said: “We have a new talent award which this year goes to Kelly Marcel for creating Terra Nova for Steven Spielberg, scripting Saving Mr Banks for Tom Hanks and now being commissioned to bring Fifty Shades of Grey to our screens.

“Sheridan Smith walked away with our acting award for her role as Mrs Biggs, and Clio Barnard won the directing award for her exquisite feature film, The Selfish Giant.

“It’s also great to see women with strength and real staying power like the charming but redoubtable Mary Beard, who has won our Presenter Award and the extraordinary Angela Rippon, who has won our Lifetime Achievement Award after 50 years in television. This year’s winners are an outstanding group of women.”

WFTV 2013 winners

The Barclays Business Award  
Danielle Lux

The FremantleMedia UK New Talent Award
Kelly Marcel

The Panalux Craft Award
Julie Ritson

The BBC News and Factual Award
Anna Hall

The Film Finances Project Management Award
Rosa Romero

The NEP Visions Presenter Award
Mary Beard

The Deluxe Digital Cinema Director Award
Clio Barnard

The Creative Skillset Inspirational Woman Award
Ronke Phillips

The Technicolor Writing Award
Sally Wainsright

The ENVY Producer Award
Pippa Harris

The MAC Best Performance Award
Sheridan Smith

The ITV Studios Achievement of the Year Award
Penny Woolcock

The Argonon Contribution to the Medium Award
Penny Eyles

The EON Lifetime Achievement Award
Angela Rippon