Doris Doerrie's Berlinale competition film Cherry Blossoms - Hanami has attracted six nominations for this year's German Film Awards - the Golden and Silver Lolas - which will be presented in a gala ceremony in Berlin on April 25.

German Film Academy president Senta Berger and State Minister for Culture and Media Bernd Neumann announced this year's nominations during ZDF's breakfast news programme Morgenmagazin on Friday morning.

While Doerrie's film picked up nominations in the categories for Best Film, Best Direction, Best Screenplay, Best Actor, Best Supporting Actress, and Best Costume Design, Fatih Akin's award-winning The Edge Of Heaven was close behind with five nominations for Best Film, Best Direction, Best Screenplay, Best Supporting Actress and Best Editing.

Cherry Blossoms is handled internationally by Bavaria Film International, while The Edge Of Heaven is represented by The Match Factory.

Thanks to the largesse of Neumann's ministry, nomination premiums amounting to $3.08m (Euros 1.95m) were awarded today to be invested in future projects. The six films nominated for Best Film each received $395,000 (Euros 250,000), the two films nominated in the Best Children's and Youth Film category $197,500 (Euros 125,000) and the two documentaries $158,000 (Euros 100,000) each. A further $1.41m (Euros 895,000) will be distributed among the final Lola winners at the awards ceremony.

The complete list ofnominations:

Best Feature Film - And Along Come Tourists, The Edge Of Heaven, Cherry Blossoms - Hanami, Shoppen Munich, The Wave, Yella

Best Documentary - To The Limit, Pool Of Princesses

Best Children's and Youth Film - Leroy, Max Minsky Und Ich

Best Direction - Fatih Akin (The Edge Of Heaven), Doris Doerrie (Cherry Blossoms - Hanami), Christian Petzold (Yella)

Best Screenplay - Fatih Akin (The Edge Of Heaven), Doris Doerrie (Cherry Blossoms - Hanami), Ralf Westhoff (Shoppen Munich)

Best Actor - Matthias Brandt (Counterparts), Ulrich Noethen (A Runaway Horse), Elmar Wepper (Cherry Blossoms - Hanami)

Best Actress - Nina Hoss (Yella), Carice van Houten (Black Book), Valerie Koch (Die Anruferin), Viktoria Trautmannsdorf (Counterparts)

Best Supporting Actress - Hannelore Elsner (Cherry Blossoms - Hanami), Christine Schorn (According to Plan), Hanna Schygulla (The Edge Of Heaven)

Best Supporting Actor - Justus von Dohnanyi (Bis Zum Ellenbogen), Herbert Knaup (Du Bist Nicht Allein), Frederick Lau (The Wave)

Best Production Design - Christian M Goldbeck (Love Life), Eduard Krajewski (Eight Miles High), Erwin Prib (Absurdistan)

Best Cinematography - Hans Fromm (Yella), Daniel Gottschalk (Trade), Benedikt Neuenfels (Love Life)

Best Costume Design - Sabine Greuning (Cherry Blossoms - Hanami), Petra Kray (Eight Miles High), Yan Tax (Black Book)

Best Music - Leroy, A Runaway Horse, Lissi And The Wild Kaiser

Best Editing - Andrew Bird (The Edge Of Heaven), Ueli Christen (The Wave), Hansjorg Weissbrich (Trade)

Best Sound - Trade, To The Limit, The Three Robbers