Line-up includes two programmes curated by Ai Weiwei and The Yes Men.

Copenhagen documentary festival CPH:DOX has unveiled the programme for its 11th edition, which runs Nov 7-17.

More than 200 films will be screened including 57 world and international premieres; a new prize for journalistic documentaries called F:ACT AWARD; and curated programmes from artist Ai Weiwei and activist duo The Yes Men.

For the first time, the festival is introducing an overall theme: Everything is Under Control.   

Chinese artist Ai Weiwei has selected 10 films for this year’s festival with the theme in mind, reflecting “artists’ role and responsibility towards the acts of the establishment”.

The festival will also screen the world premiere of Weiwei’s new film Stay Home!, about a 10-year old girl who is not allowed to receive medical care for her HIV-infection, as she is the second child in the family.    

US activist duo The Yes Men aim to bring the power of the media into focus with eight films that “critique the mainstream media’s neoliberal approach to newscovering”.

In addition, there will be four cash awards under the names DOX:Award, New Vision, Nordic:DOX and the new journalistic F:ACT Award.    

The films nominated for DOX:Award are the festival’s selection of it considers the year’s best international documentaries.The nominated films are:

Stay Home! (World Premiere)
Directed by Ai Weiwei (China, 2013)

Atlas (World Premiere)
Directed by Antoine d’Agata (France 2013)

Naomi Campbel (World Premiere)
Directed by Nicolás Videla and Camila José Donoso (Chile 2013)

Everyday Rebellion (World Premiere)
Directed by The Riahi Brothers (Austria and Switzerland, 2013)

The Great Night (International Premiere)
Directed by Petr Hátle (Checkrepublic, 2013)

The Blocher Experience (International Premiere)
Directed by Jean-Stéphane Bron (Switzerland, 2013)

An Episode in the Life of an Iron Picker
Directed by Danis Tanovic (Bosnia, 2013)

Bloody Beans (International Premiere)
Directed by Narimane Mari (Algeria and France 2013)

Birds of September WP (World Premiere)
Directed by Sarah Francis (Lebanon 2013)

The Mother and the Sea (World Premiere)
Directed by Gonçalo Tocha (Portugal, 2013)

Love Me (World Premiere)
Directed by Hanne Myren (Norway, 2013)

My Love Awaits Me by the Sea (European Premiere)
Directed by Mais Darwazah (Jordan and others, 2013)

Stop the Pounding Heart
Directed by Roberto Minervini (Italy, USA and more, 2013)

The Reunion
Directed by Anna Odell (Sweden, 2013)


New:Vision, the competition for “boundary-pushing experiments between film and contemporary art”, includes:

The Filmballad of Mamadada (World Premiere)
Directed by Cassandra Guan and Lily Benson (USA, 2013)

Hair (World Premiere)
Directed by Agnieszka Polska (Poland, 2013)

Lettres du voyant (World Premiere)
Directed by Louis Henderson (France, 2013)

It for Others (World Premiere)
Directed by Duncan Campbell (Ireland, 2013)

Captain Gervasio’s Family (World Premiere)
Directed by Kasper Akhøj, Tamar Guimaraes (Denmark & Brazil, 2013)

Aleksander (World Premiere)
Directed by Anka Sasnal and Wilhelm Sasnal (Poland, 2013)

Redemption (World Premiere)
Directed by Miguel Gomes (Portugal, 2013)

Promised Land (World Premiere)
Directed by Nikolaj Bendix Skyum Larsen (Denmark and England, 2013)

A Spell To Ward Off the Darkness
Directed by Ben Rivers and Ben Russell (France and Estonia, 2013)

Directed by Stephanie Spray and Pacho Velez (USA and Nepal, 2013)

Apicula Enigma
Directed by Marine Hugonnier (England, 2013)

The Trick Brain (International Premiere)
Directed by Ed Atkins (England, 2013)

Directed by Pierre Huyghe (France, 2013)

Natpwe, the Feast of the Spirits
Directed by Tiane Doan na Champassak and Jean Dubrel (France, 2013)

A Thousand Suns
Directed by Mati Diop (France, 2013)

Directed by Michelangelo Frammartino (Italy, 2013)


The CPH:DOX award for Nordic documentaries include nomiees:

The Shadow (World Premiere)
Directed by Line Hatland (Norway, 2013)

Portrait of a Lone Farmer (World Premiere)
Directed by Jide Tom Akinleminu (Denmark & Germany, 2013)

Drømmen om en familie (World Premiere)
Directed by Mira Jargil (Denmark, 2013)

A separation (World Premiere)
Directed by Karin Ekberg, (Sweden, 2013)

Days of Hope (World Premiere)
Directed by Ditte Haarløv Johnsen (Denmark, 2013)

Pine Ridge (World Premiere)
Directed Anna Eborn (Denmark, 2013)

Not at Home (World Premiere)
Directed by Katja Adomeit & Shahrbanoo Sadat, (Denmark & Afghanistan, 2013)

Balcony Tales
Directed by Helle Windeløv-Lidzélius, (Denmark, 2013)

Kopfkino (International Premiere)
Directed by Lene Berg (Norge, 2013)

 My Stuff
Directed by Petri Luukkainen (Finland, 2013)

After You (International Premiere)
Directed by Marius Dybwad-Brandrud (Sverige, 2013)

Alcan Highway
Directed by Aleksi Salmenperä (Finland, 2013)

Belleville Baby
Directed by Mia Engberg (Sweden, 2013)


CPH:DOX and the Danish Union of Journalists offer a new journalistic prize that honours investigative documentaries. There are 12 films nominated in this category that are competing for the prize worth €5,000. The nominees are:

Big A – From Gang Wars to Jihad (World Premiere)
Directed by Nagieb Khaja (Denmark, 2013)

The War Campaign (World Premiere)
Directed by Boris Bertram (Denmark, 2013)

The Agreement (World Premiere)
Directed by Karen Stokkendal Poulsen (Denmark, 2013)

The UK Gold (International Premiere)
Directed by Mark Donne (UK, 2013)

Dirty Wars
Directed by Richard Rowley (US, 2013)

Population Boom (International Premiere)
Directed by Werner Boote (Austria, 2013)

Big Men
Directed by Rachel Boynton (US, 2013)

Master of the Universe
Directed by Marc Bauder (Germany & Austria, 2013)

In God We Trust
Directed by Victor Kubicek & Derek Anderson (US, 2013)

No Fire Zone: The Killing Fields of Sri Lanka
Directed by Callum Macrae, (UK, 2013)

We Steal Secrets – The Story of WikiLeaks
Directed by Alex Gibey (US, 2013)

The Unknown Known
Directed by Errol Morris (US, 2013)