Visu2020_2 © Robert Słuszniak

Source: Robert Słusniak

Less Is More

European training and coaching development programme Less Is More has selected 16 low-budget feature projects for its 2020 scheme, as well as 12 ‘development angels’ to join the development process.

Open to projects at script development stage from first to third-time feature filmmakers from across the globe, the scheme received 460 applications from 90 countries – a 37% increase on the previous year’s total.

See full list of projects below.

12 of this year’s projects are European productions, with one each from Tunisia, Rwanda and Mexico plus a Palestine-Denmark co-production.

Less Is More is run by France-based development group Le Groupe Ouest, and supported by the EU’s Creative Europe – MEDIA Programme.

Since the scheme launched in 2017 six participating projects have already completed filming, with another 12 in pre-production, including Nathalie Biancheri’s Wolf starring George MacKay and Lily-Rose Depp which shoots in Ireland in April.

The 12 individuals chosen as ‘development angels’ will participate four-at-a-time in three workshops, through which they will be trained in new development techniques.

The projects will be presented at the Less Is More gathering this afternoon in Berlin.

Less Is More 2020 selection

Glory B - Konstantinos Antonopoulos, Luigi Campi (Gr-It)
1st Feature Film

The Living - Carlos Armella (Mex)
3rd Feature Film

Aisha - Hanis Bagashov (N Mac)
1st Feature Film

Below Thirty Hills - Luka Bursac (Ser)
3rd Feature Film

Aurora’s Skies - Joséfa Celestin (Fr-UK)
1st Feature Film

Heather - Brian Deane (Ire)
1st Feature Film

Benimana (Children Of God!) - Marie-Clementine Dusabejambo (Rwa)
1st Feature Film

Desert Love - Gunhild Enger (Nor)
1st Feature Film

Tunis-Djerba - Amel Guellaty (Tun)
1st Feature Film

Mourning Glory - Nathan Hughes (UK)
1st Feature Film

Book Of Questions - Jaroszuk Grzegorz (Pol)
3rd Feature Film 

A Million Reasons To Daydream - Myro Klochko (Ukr)
1st Feature Film

Tre Cavalli - Thierry Machard (Fr)
1st Feature Film

Heirloom ­- Larissa Sansour, Soren Lind (Pal-Den)
1st Feature Film

Night In The Kindergarten - Rafal Skalski, Michal Walczak (Pol)
1st Feature Film

Devils’ Den - Jonas Trukanas, Marija Kavtaradze (Lith)
1st Feature Film

Development angels

Tamara Babun – Cro

Anna Bielak – Pol

Ciarán Charles – Ire

Eva Chillón – Sp

Daniela Cölle – Slovakia, Ger

Aistė Diržiūtė – Lith

Clarisse Goulart – Braz

Magnus Kristiansen – Nor

Colette Quesson– Fr

Ilse Schooneknaep – Bel

Benjamin Taylor– UK

Eva Zabezsinszkij – Hun