L-R Thomas Dexter, Ines Adriana, Molly Manning-Walker, Will Turner,Sighvatur Kristinsson,Silvia Villalba, Palma Derzi & Sarah Couprie

Source: NFTS

(Left to right): Thomas Dexter, Ines Adriana, Molly Manning-Walker, Will Turner, Sighvatur Kristinsson, Silvia Villalba, Palma Derzi & Sarah Couprie

The UK’s National Film and Television School (NFTS) has held its 2019 Graduation Showcase, awarding prizes to graduating students and celebrating their work of the last 12 months. 

The Showcase took place at Picturehouse Central in Soho, London on from Monday 25-Wednesday 27 February, followed by the graduation ceremony at ODEON Leicester Square on Thursday.

Industry partners including Avid, Christie, IOSH, Panalux and Sargent Disc chose the award winners, recognising high levels of achievement in production.

The ‘Most Promising NFTS student’ award was given to graduating composer Will Turner. NFTS head of composing John Keane said, “Will stands out for his excellent attitude to everything he does. He is a talented composer on a quest to understand his vocation more profoundly, which is demonstrated by his willingness to experiment and take risks.”

The cinematography prize was awarded to graduating cinematographer Molly Manning-Walker for her work on November 1st. The jury for the award commented, “Molly’s camera work was very much in sync with the pace and the momentum of the action. There were thoughtful moments of stillness, where the composition of the shot allowed space around the characters to be more reflective; and then there were moments of greater intensity where the camera moved with the actors and followed their faces closely.”

As previously reported, the honorary fellowship award was presented to Amma Asante, director of films including Belle and A United Kingdom.

Full list of winners

  • Most promising NFTS student – Will Turner, composer
  • Cinematography prize – Molly Manning-Walker, cinematographer
  • Production management/assistant directing/floor management diploma awards:
    • Scheduling award – Sarah Couprie
    • Budgeting award – Palma Derzsi
    • Best overall award - Silvia Villalba
  • Health and safety management in film production – best safety plan on a fiction shoot – Thomas Dexter, producer and Alana O’Neill, production manager, for Misconduct
  • Excellence in sound design – Ines Adriana, sound designer, for The Pregnant Ground
  • Excellence in editing – Sighvatur Kristinsson, for We Have Everywhere To Go