Music Box Films acquires rights to Berlinale Grand Jury Prize winner.

Pablo Larrain’s The Club has been acquired for North American by Music Box Films from Funny Balloons.

The film, Larrain’s follow-up to Oscar-nominated No, won the Grand Jury Prize at the Berlinale in February.

The ensemble piece features Chilean actors who have previously acted in Larraín films such as Alfredo Castro (Tony Manero), Antonia Zegers (No) and Jaime Vadell (No).

Guillermo Calderon, Daniel Villalobos and Larraín wrote the screenplay.

The film is produced by Juan de Dios Larraín (Fabula). World sales are handled by Funny Balloons.

Ed Arentz, of Music Box Films, said the film was “dark, mordant yet compassionate”.

The Club centres on four men who live together in a secluded house in a small seaside town, each sent to purge sins from the past. But the fragile stability of their routine is disrupted by the arrival of a fifth man who brings with him a past they thought they had left behind.

The film has also been licensed in: Benelux (Cinéart), UK (Network), France (Wild Bunch), Germany (Piff Medien), Italy (Bolero), Portugal (Alambique), Scandinavia & Baltics (NonStop), Spain (Caramel), ex-Yugoslavia (Demiurg), Poland (Aurora), Greece (Strada), Turkey (Fabula), Taiwan (FlashForward), Brazil (Imovision), Colombia (Babilla Cine) and Central America (Palmera).

Mexico, Japan and Korea are currently in negotiation.