the power of the dog

Source: Netflix

‘The Power of the Dog’

Jane Campion’s The Power Of The Dog took home three awards at the Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) International Awards, held in Los Angeles, including the prize for best film.

The awards were presented virtually on January 26 Los Angeles time and January 27 in Australia.

Scroll down for the full list of winners

The New Zealand director’s Netflix Western, about a pair of wealthy cattle-owning brothers in the 1920s whose lives take an unexpected turn when one brings home his new wife and her son, also won best lead actor in a film for Benedict Cumberbatch and best supporting actor in a film for Australian actor Kodi Smit-McPhee.

Another success story from the night was Aaron Sorkin’s Being The Ricardos, which won Australian star Nicole Kidman the award for best lead actress in a film, and also the best screenplay in a film prize.

While Kenneth Branagh’s Belfast was the most nominated film, with seven nods, it won only in the best supporting actress category, which went to Judi Dench.

AACTA International Awards winners

Best film
The Power Of The Dog, dir. Jane Campion

Best lead actress in a film
Nicole Kidman, Being The Ricardos

Best lead actor in a film
Benedict Cumberbatch, The Power Of The Dog

Best supporting actress in a film
Judi Dench, Belfast

Best supporting actor in a film
Kodi Smit-McPhee, The Power Of The Dog

Best direction in film
Denis Villeneuve, Dune

Best screenplay in a film
Aaron Sorkin, Being The Ricardos

Best drama series

Best comedy series
The White Lotus

Best actress in a series
Kate Winslet, Mare Of Easttown

Best actor in a series
Murray Bartlett, The White Lotus