The awards of the 68th Berlin Film Festival were handed out on Saturday evening (February 24), with the Golden Bear for best film going to Adina Pintilie’s Touch Me Not, which also scooped best first feature.

touch me not c manekino film rohfilm pink agitprop les films de l etranger

Source: Manekino Film, Rohfilm, Pink, Agitprop, Les Films de L’Etranger

Laura Benson

Scroll down for a list of winners

There were 24 films in this year’s competition section, 19 of which were eligible for the Golden Bear.

Wes Anderson won the festival’s Silver Bear best director prize for his competition opener Isle Of Dogs. Anderson regular Bill Murray accepted the award on the director’s behalf.

This year’s international competition jury was headed up by German director Tom Tykwer, who was joined by Cécile de France, Chema Prado, Moonlight producer Adele Romanski, Ryūichi Sakamoto, and film critic Stephanie Zacharek.

The jurors took a different view to Screen International’s jury of critics and awarded the Golden Bear to Touch Me Not, which scored just 1.5 out of a possible 4 on the grid. Screen’s review called the film ”confrontational” and ”thought-provoking”.

Speaking at the start of the ceremony, festival director Dieter Kosslick – who will step down after next year’s edition – said he did not feel the need to reference the #MeToo debate, which had been discussed prominently over the last two weeks, and said he hoped the festival’s films “have shown diverse and strong women”.

Further awards went to Małgorzata Szumowska’s Mug, which won the Silver Bear Grand Jury Prize, and The Prayer’s Anthony Bajon, who took the Silver Bear for best actor.

The Silver Bear Alfred Bauer Prize for a feature film that opens new perspectives went to Marcelo Martinessi’s The Heiresses, while the film’s star Ana Brun took the Silver Bear for best actress.

Manuel Alcalá and Alonso Ruizpalacios took the Silver Bear for best screenplay for heist film Museo starring Gael García Bernal.

The Silver Bear for outstanding artistic contribution went to Dovlatov costume designer Elena Okopnaya.

Ruth Beckermann’s The Waldheim Waltz won the Glashütte original documentary prize.

The Panorama audience award was presented to Timur Bekmambetov’s Profile for best fiction film and The Silence Of Others by Almudena Carracedo and Robert Bahar for best documentary. To see the full list of winners click here.

Key winners

Golden Bear For Best Film
Touch Me Not, Adina Pintilie

Silver Bear Grand Jury Prize
Mug, Małgorzata Szumowska

Silver Bear Alfred Bauer Prize For A Feature Film That Opens New Perspectives
The Heiresses, Marcelo Martinessi

Silver Bear For Best Director
Wes Anderson, Isle Of Dogs

Silver Bear For Best Actress
Ana Brun, The Heiresses

Silver Bear For Best Actor
Anthony Bajon, The Prayer

Silver Bear For Best Screenplay
Manuel Alcalá and Alonso Ruizpalacios, Museo

Silver Bear for Outstanding Artistic Contribution
Elena Okopnaya, costume designer, Dovlatov