Emin Alper’s Beyond The Hill received the Special Jury Prize

The 18th Sarajevo Film Festival (Jul 6-14) wrapped last night with Radu Jude’s Everybody In Our Family winning the Heart of Sarajevo for Best Film.

The Romanian family drama also received a cash prize of €16,000, provided by the Council of Europe.

The Special Jury Award and €10,000 provided by Agnes B. went to Turkish director Emin Alper’s first feature film Beyond The Hill.

Uliks Fehmiu, the star of Serbian director Miroslav Terzic’s political thriller Redemption Street received the Heart of Sarajevo for Best Actor and €2,500.

Bosnian actress Marija Pikic won the Heart of Sarajevo for Best Actress and the same financial prize, provided by the Sarajevo International Airport, for her role in Aida Begic’s Children Of Sarajevo. The film also won the Cineuropa Award and €5,000.

Austrian director Florian Flicker’s Crossing Boundaries, which had its world premiere in Sarajevo’s competition, won the CICAE Award, which means support in distribution in CICAE’s network of 3,000 cinemas.

In the documentary competition, the Heart of Sarajevo went to Ivana Mladenovic’s Turn Off The Lights from Romania. Croatian director Nebojsa Slijepcevic won the Human Rights award for Real Man’s Film. The two films received €3,000 each from the Swiss Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

The EDN Talent grant went to Romania’s Marius Iacob for 24 Buckets, 7 Mice, 18 Years.

In the short film competition, Blerta Zeqiri from Kosovo won the Heart of Sarajevo and €2,500 for The Return. It was also selected as the Sarajevo short film nominee for the European Film Awards 2012.

Bulgarian director Pavel G. Vesnakov’s The Paraffin Prince and Romanian director Radu Potcoava’s Daddy Rulz received special mentions.

At Sarajevo’s co-production market CineLink, the Eurimages CineLink award and €30,000 went to Syllas Tzoumerkas’ project A Blast from Greece.

Bosnia’s Alen Drljevic won the CNC Award and €10,000 for Men Don’t Cry, while the Arte International Relations Award and the same cash amount went to Serbia’s Stevan Filipovic and Mirjana Karanovic for The Good Wife.

Hungarian director Laszlo Nemes got the Living Pictures Service Award, which includes in kind support of up to €10,000 for S.K.

Croatia’s Ognjen Svilicic received the CineLink Excellence Award for Quiet People, and the EAVE Scholarship was awarded to Turkey’s Ahu Ozturk for Dust Cloth.

At CineLink’s Work in Progress programme, Emir Baigazin from Kazakhstan received in-kind support of €80,000 from the Post Republic for Harmony Lessons, while Serbia’s Ivan Ikic won in-kind support of €20,000 from Restart for Barbarians. A special mention went to Romanian director Alexander Nanau for Totonel.

The Honorary Heart of Sarajevo was awarded to Croatian-born producer Branko Lustig, winner of Academy Awards for Gladiator and Schindler’s List.