bafta hosts 2023

Source: Bafta

Richard E. Grant, Alison Hammond, Ali Plumb, Vick Hope

Richard E. Grant will host the 2023 Bafta Film Awards on Sunday, February 19, with presenter Alison Hammond hosting a new Bafta Studio that will show viewers ‘Access-All-Areas’ content including backstage footage.

“I feel hugely privileged to be hosting the EE Baftas for the first time and the opportunity to celebrate the very best of the extraordinary range of this year’s films,” said Grant, who was nominated for the best actor in a supporting role Bafta for Can You Ever Forgive Me? in 2019.

The 2023 awards will take place at the Southbank Centre’s Royal Festival Hall in London for the first time, having been held at the Royal Albert Hall for the past five years.

Film critic Ali Plumb and presenter Vick Hope will host Bafta’s red carpet coverage.

As previously announced, the final four categories will be broadcast live on BBC One for the first time. It has not yet been confirmed which four categories those will be.

“We’re going to have a lot of fun bringing the glitz and glam of backstage to everyone watching at home around the world. From hanging out with the stars to celebrating the biggest night for cinema, and joining the discussions with film fans, get ready for good vibes only!” added Hammond.

“Much-loved by our audience at home, Richard also commands huge respect from his industry peers. And I can’t think of anyone better to complement Richard’s razor-sharp wit, and to helm our brand new Bafta Studio, than Alison Hammond, with her brilliantly entertaining and candid interview style,” said Jane Millichip, who oversees her first Film Awards as Bafta chief executive since taking over from Amanda Berry in October.

Platinum Jubilee Celebrations producer Spun Gold was appointed to “reinvent” the coverage of Bafta TV and Film Awards last year, replacing Done + Dusted and Whizz Kid Entertainment. The latter co-produced the Bafta Film Awards for over 20 years.

The 2023 Bafta nominations will be unveiled this Thursday, January 19.

Last year’s awards were hosted by Australian actress Rebel Wilson; while the pandemic-afflicted 2021 edition was held across two nights, jointly hosted by Clara Amfo, Dermot O’Leary and Edith Bowman.