aftersun 3(1)

Source: Mubi


Charlotte Wells’ Aftersun has topped the winners in the craft categories at the British Independent Film Awards (Bifas), taking three of the 10 prizes on offer.

Released into 109 UK-Ireland cinemas today (Nov 18) by Mubi, Aftersun received the best cinematography prize for Gregory Oke; best editing for Blair McClendon; and the new best music supervision award for Lucy Bright.

Scroll down for the full list of Bifa 2022 craft winners

The film recorded the second-most Bifa nominations ever for a single title last week with 16. With three of its nine craft nominations converted to wins, it will be up for seven further awards in the 25th Bifa ceremony on Sunday, December 4.

Seven films shared the other seven craft awards, including Georgia Oakley’s Blue Jean – this year’s second-most nominated title with 13 – which took best casting for 10-time Bifa nominee Shaheen Baig.

Oliver Hermanus’ Living won best production design for Helen Scott; with Sebastian Lelio’s 12-time nominee The Wonder taking best original music for Matthew Herbert; and David Simpson taking best effects for Alex Garland’s psychological horror Men.

11-time Oscar nominee Jenny Beavan received the best costume design award for her work on Mrs. Harris Goes To Paris; Eugene Souleiman and Scarlett O’Connell received best make-up and hair design for Thomas Hardiman’s Medusa Deluxe; while former Bifa winner Peter Strickland’s Flux Gourmet took best sound, for Tim Harrison, Raoul Brand and Cassandra Rutledge.

Mubi leads the way amongst distributors with four awards – Aftersun plus Medusa Deluxe – with one each for Altitude, Lionsgate, Netflix, Entertainment Film Distributors, Universal and Curzon.

The craft categories were introduced in 2017; nominations and winners in all categories are chosen by Bifa voters across three rounds of viewing, discussion and voting.

Nominees in the performance categories include Screen Stars of Tomorrow Emma Mackey, Rosy McEwen and Florence Pugh in the gender-neutral best lead performance category; Aftersun’s Frankie Corio and Paul Mescal in the best joint lead performance section; and the casts of Aftersun, Blue Jean and The Wonder in the best ensemble performance section.

Both Wells and Oakley are up for five awards for Aftersun and Blue Jean respectively: best British independent film, director, screenplay, the Douglas Hickox award for debut director, and debut screenwriter.

Bifa 2022 craft winners

Best cinematography – Aftersun, Gregory Oke

Best editing – Aftersun, Blair McClendon

Best music supervision – Aftersun, Lucy Bright

Best casting – Blue Jean, Shaheen Baig

Best production design – Living, Helen Scott

Best original music – The Wonder, Matthew Herbert

Best costume design – Mrs. Harris Goes To Paris, Jenny Beavan

Best effects – Men, David Simpson

Best make-up & hair design – Medusa Deluxe, Eugene Souleiman, Scarlett O’Connell

Best sound – Flux Gourmet, Tim Harrison, Raoul Brand, Cassandra Rutledge