Source: Subject’s own / Eoin Carey / Screen International

Lee Haven Jones, Harry Wootliff, Rob Savage

Lee Haven Jones, Harry Wootliff and Rob Savage, the directors of The Feast, True Things and Dashcam respectively, have been shortlisted for the £50,000 IWC Schaffhausen Filmmaker Bursary Award in association with the BFI, which will be presented on Sunday October 17 as part of the BFI London Film Festival (LFF).

Haven Jones has been selected for his debut feature, while Wootliff and Savage are both selected for their second films. This year’s winner will be chosen by writer, actor and producer Phoebe Waller-Bridge, alongside BFI CEO Ben Roberts.

The shortlisted trio were selected by a five-person panel: BFI festivals director Tricia Tuttle, Film4 head of creative Ollie Madden, BBC Film commissioning executive Eva Yates, BFI senior development and production executive Farhana Bhula, and film critic Anna Smith.

LFF has also chosen the juries for its competitive sections. The five-person Official Competition jury is headed by Polish director Malgorzata Szumowska, who won the grand jury prize at the 2018 Berlinale for her film Mug. Alongside Szumowska are casting director Nina Gold, filmmakers Aleem Khan and Mark Cousins, and film critic Jessica Kiang.

Filmmaker Isabel Sandoval heads the First Feature Competition jury, alongside Censor director Prano Bailey-Bond, actor/filmmaker Aki Omoshaybi, actor Nabhaan Rizwan and journalist Hannah Strong.

Acclaimed documentarian Kim Longinotto leads the Documentary Competition jury, with Kenyan filmmaker Peter Murimi, producer Natasha Dack, and Allison Gardner, CEO of Glasgow Film.

Felix Barrett, artistic director of UK theatre company Punchdrunk, heads the Immersive Art and XR Competition jury, alongside artists Bruno Martelli and Ruth Gibson, whose Dazzle Solo played in last year’s LFF Expanded section.

The Short Film Competition jury is headed by Saint Maud director Rose Glass, alongside actor Amir El Masry, producer Madeleine Molyneaux, filmmaker Baff Akoto and critic Elena Lazic.

Savage, Waller-Bridge, Khan, Bailey-Bond, Rizwan, Glass and Akoto have all previously been named Screen Stars of Tomorrow.

The IWC Schaffhausen award is one of the biggest financial prizes available to filmmakers in the international industry. Previous winners include Daniel Kokotajlo for Apostasy, Richard Billingham for Ray & Liz, Rose Glass for Saint Maud and last year’s winner Cathy Brady for Wildfire.

The 65th London Film Festival will run from October 6-17. The full programme was announced last month.