the favourite c fox searchlight

Source: Fox Searchlight

‘The Favourite’

The Favourite was the big winner of the British Independent Film Awards’ (BIFAs) craft categories, announced today (Nov 15).

Yorgos Lanthimos’ historical comedy won five awards: best casting for Dixie Chassay, best cinematography for Robbie Ryan, best costume design for Sandy Powell, best make up and hair design for Nadia Stacey and best production design for Fiona Crombie. 

You Were Never Really Here won two awards; best music for Jonny Greenwood and best sound for Paul Davies. 

The other awards went to American Animals, which won best editing for Nick Fenton, Julian Hart and Chris Gill; and Early Man, winner of best effects for Howard Jones.

The craft awards were overhauled in 2017 and separated from the main ceremony, with nine prizes taking the place of the ‘outstanding achievement in craft’ category.

The Favourite will compete with American Animals, Beast, Disobedience and You Were Never Really Here for the best British independent film prize at the main awards ceremony, to be held on Sunday 2 December at Old Billingsgate, London.

The recipient of the 2018 Richard Harris award for outstanding contribution by an actor to British Film will be announced next week.