Spotlight, Carol shut out by National Board Of Review. Son Of Saul named best foreign-language film.

mad max 7

The National Board Of Review unveiled its awards selections on Tuesday with Mad Max: Fury Road landing the main prize, Best Film Of The Year.

Ridley Scott has been named best director for The Martian, Matt Damon best actor and Brie Larson best actress for Room.

Besides Damon and Larson, there was acting recognition for Sylvester Stallone and Jennifer Jason Leigh in supporting roles for Creed and The Hateful Eight, respectively.

Abraham Attah from Beasts Of No Nation and Jacob Tremblay for Room split the Breakthrough Performance vote with two of the most acclaimed performances of the season.

Best Original Screenplay honours have gone to Quentin Tarantino for The Hateful Eight while Drew Goddard won Best Adapted Screenplay for The Martian.

Son Of Saul earned best foreign-language film honours, Inside Out best animation prize and Amy best documentary.

Jonas Carpignano emerged with the Best Directorial Debut award for Mediterranea, the cast of The Big Short received Best Ensemble, Sicario the Spotlight Award for Outstanding Collaborative Vision and Beasts Of No Nation and Mustang tied for the NBR Freedom Of Expression Award.

The William K Everson Film History Award has gone to Cecilia De Mille Presley.

The group’s top films are: Bridge Of Spies, Creed, The Hateful Eight, Inside Out, The Martian, Room, Sicario, and Straight Outta Compton.

Top five foreign-language films are: Goodnight Mommy, Mediterranea, Phoenix, The Second Mother and The Tribe.

Top five documentaries are: Best Of Enemies, The Black Panthers: Vanguard Of The Revolution, The Diplomat, Listen To Me Marlon and The Look Of Silence.

Top ten independent films: ’71, 45 Years, Cop Car, Ex Machina, Grandma, It Follows, James White, Mississippi Grind, Welcome To Me and While We’re Young.

NBR president Annie Schulhof said, “2015 has been a banner year for popular cinema. We are thrilled to be awarding George Miller and Ridley Scott, two iconic filmmakers at the top of their game, while also celebrating the next generation of talent.”

The NBR will host its 2015 gala on January 5, 2016.