Riders Of Justice

Source: Rolf Konow / Courtesy of Trustnordisk

‘Riders Of Justice’

France and Japan are among several new territories to snap up Anders Thomas Jensen’s Riders Of Justice, starring Mads Mikkelsen, from TrustNordisk.

The Danish black comedy has been acquired by France (SND – Groupe M6), Japan (Klockworx), Switzerland (Ascot Elite), Australia and New Zealand (Rialto), and Brazil (Synapse).

Recent deals were closed for the US (Magnet Releasing) and UK (Vertigo Releasing).

The film had its local release in Denmark on November 19, reporting 150,000 admissions on its opening weekend – the biggest in Denmark this year. It also ranked as the biggest opening of a Danish film since animation Checkered Ninja in 2018. Admissions for Riders Of Justice currently stand at 407,785.

The story centres on military man Markus (Mikkelsen), who returns home to his teenage daughter after his wife dies in a tragic train accident. But when a passenger on the wrecked train surfaces with claims of foul play, Markus begins to suspect the accident may have been a carefully orchestrated assassination.

Alongside Mikkelsen, who was recently confirmed to replace Johnny Depp in the Fantastic Beasts franchise, is Nikolaj Lie Kaas, Lars Brygmann, Nicolas Bro, Gustav Lindh and Andrea H Gadeberg.

The producers are Sisse Graum Jørgensen and Sidsel Hybschmann for Zentropa Entertainments3 and the co-producers are Film i Väst and Zentropa Sweden with support from the Danish Film Institute’s Market Scheme, FilmFyn, Nordisk Film & TV Fond and Media, in collaboration with YouSee, TV 2 Denmark, YLE and SVT.

Jensen is the screenwriter behind Susanne Bier’s Oscar-winning In A Better World and has directed features including Men & Chicken, Adam’s Apples, The Green Butchers and Flickering Lights – all of which starred Mikkelsen.

TrustNordisk has previously sold Riders Of Justice to Germany and Austria (Splendid); Russia and CIS (Cappella); Benelux (September); Baltics (Estin); Czech Republic and Slovakia (Film Europe); Poland (Best Film); Hungary (Vertigo Media); and Albania, Slovenia, Croatia, Serbia & Montenegro, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Kosovo, Macedonia (Cinemania Groupicon).