Night Shot

Carolina Moscoso’s Night Shot has won the Grand Prix at the Marseille International Film Festival (FIDMarseille).

The Chilean film marks Moscoco’s debut feature and uses text, candid footage, animation and sound design to confront her past trauma: a violent rape that occurred eight years previously when she was a film student. It was produced by Santiago-based El Espino Films.

Scroll down for full list of winners

The feature received its international premiere at the festival that ran from July 22-26 in southern France. It was the first physical film event of its kind in Europe since the start of the coronavirus pandemic which has resulted in nationwide lockdown’s around the world.

In the 17-strong international competition, a special mention went to French filmmaker Olivier Derousseau’s Northern Range, which had its world premiere at the festival. Produced by Horizon Inverse, it centres on an area on France’s north coast between Dunkirk and Calais, using music to accompany images of industry and people throughout the region.

The Georges De Beauregard International Prize went to Tatiana Mazú González’s Shady River, which will be awarded a DCP copy of the film. The Argentinian film is centred on the Patagonian mining town of Rio Turbio where the director wages war against a rule stating women are forbidden to go down its wells because of the bad luck it would bring.

A special mention was given to Zaho Zay, directed by Maéva Ranaïvojaona and Georg Tiller. The Austria-France-Madagascar is produced by the director’s Subobscura Films and Tomsa Films.

The international jury was comprised of Nobuhiro Suwa, Manon De Boer, Silvia Cruz, Michel Lipkes and Adrian Paci.

The Grand Prix in the French competition went to Lech Kowalski’s This Is Paris Too. The veteran filmmaker, who won the Venice Horizons Award in 2005 with East Of Paradise, follows a Native America and the people he encounters on the streets of Paris. It is produced by Revolt Cinema.

A special mention was given to Chloé Galibert-Laîné’s Forensickness.

The Georges De Beauregard National Prize was awarded to Nathan Nicholovitch’s The Seeds We Sow, a fiction-documentary hybrid set in a suburban Paris high school. It is produced by D’un Film l’Autre. A special mention was granted to Thomas Bauer’s Fixed Barricade At Hamdalaye Crossing.

The French competition jury included Zita Hanrot, Janja Kralj, Gonzalo DE Pedro, Jorge León and Claude Schmitz.

FIDMarseille 2020 winners

Grand Prix Of The International Competition

Night Shot (Chile)
Dir. Carolina Moscoso

Special Mention
Northern Range (Fr)
Dir. Olivier Derousseau

Georges De Beauregard International Prize

Shady River (Arg)
Dir. Tatiana Mazú González

Special Mention
Zaho Zay (Fr-Aust-Mad)
Dirs. Maéva Ranaïvojaona, Georg Tiller

French Competition

Grand Prix Of The French Competition

This Is Paris Too (Fr)
Dir. Lech Kowalski

Special Mention
Forensickness (Fr-Ger)
Dir. Chloé Galibert-Laîné

Georges De Beauregard National Prize

The Seeds We Sow (Fr)
Dir. Nathan Nicholovitch

Special Mention
Fixed Barricade At Hamdalaye Crossing (Guinea-Fr)
Dir. Thomas Bauer

First Film Prize

Episodes - Spring 2018 (Fr)
Dir. Mathilde Girard

Special Mention
Heliconia (Fr-Col)
Dir. Paula Rodríguez Polanco

CNAP (National Centre For Visual Arts) Award

Explaining The Law To Kwame (Isr)
Dir. Roee Rosen

Special Mentions
Forensickness (Fr-Ger)
Dir. Chloé Galibert-Laîné

Soon It Will Be Dark (Ger)
Dir. Isabell Heimerdinger

Flash Competition Prize

Explaining The Law To Kwame (Isr)
Dir. Roee Rosen

Special Mentions
No Weight Whatsoever (US)
Dir. Mauricio Arango

The Rebirth Of The Carare (Col)
Dir. Andrés Jurado

Alice Guy Prize

Voin (Fr-Bul)
Dir. Gaëlle Boucand

Special Mention
A Potentiality (US)
Dir. Dana Berman Duff

Renaud Victor Prize

Zaho Zay (Fr-Aust-Mad)
Dirs. Maéva Ranaïvojaona, Georg Tiller