Other leading nominees are Life Itself and 20,000 Days on Earth.

Laura Poitras’ Citizenfour, about NSA whistleblower Edward Snowden, leads the pack at the Cinema Eye Awards nominations, with six nods.

Steve James’ Life Itself about Roger Ebert and Iain Forsythe and Jane Pollard’s 20,000 Days on Earth about Nick Cave followed close behind with five nominations each.

The nominees for the awards, which recognise exemplary craft and innovation in nonfiction film, were announced last night at an industry party at CPH: DOX in Copenhagen.

In addition to those three, the other nominations for the Nonfiction Feature Film were Jesse Moss’ The Overnighters and Orlando von Einsiedel’s Virunga.

Poitras and James are also nominated in the Direction category, and each has previously won that Cinema Eye prize, Poitras with The Oath in 2011 and James in 2012 with The Interrupters. Poitras becomes the most nominated filmmaker in Cinema Eye history with nine nominations.

Other films nominated in multiple categories are The Overnighters, Virunga, The Case Against 8, Actress, The E-Team, Finding Vivian Maier, Jodorowsky’s Dune, Ne Me Quitte Pas, Particle Fever and Return to Homs.

In Outstanding Direction, James, Moss and Poitras are joined by fellow nominees Nick Broomfield for Tales of the Grim Sleeper and Robert Greene for Actress.

In the Awards’ second annual prize for Nonfiction Film for Television, the nominees are Heidi Ewing and Rachel Grady’s The Education of Muhammad Hussein, James Lapine’s Six by Sondheim, Daniel Gordon’s Hillsborough, and Nanette Burstein’s The Price of Gold, and Bob Smeaton’s Masters’ Jimi Hendrix – Here My Train A Comin’.

The Audience Choice Prize contenders are Ben Cotner and Ryan White’s The Case Against 8; Chiemi Karawasa’s Elaine Stritch: Shoot Me; John Maloof and Charlie Siskel’s Finding Vivian Maier; Frank Pavich’s Jodorowsky’s Dune; Alan Hick’s Keep On Keepin’ On; Tom Berninger’s Mistaken for Strangers; and Mark Levinson’s Particle Fever.

Winners will be announced Jan 7 at the awards ceremony in New York.

For the full list of nominees including editing and shorts, visit http://www.cinemaeyehonors.com.